Giving Back Thru Service Learning

6a00d8341c570653ef00e54f7d54668833-800wi

My family has always been active with activities like the Service Learning Project since my mother heads an organization of housewives (Solid Ladies Club) and they do regular outreach activities like feeding the poor, orphanage visits, tree planting and their annual Christmas Wish Project. Being asked to do a Service Learning Project excites me because I am looking forward to having my own outreach activity just like that of my mother’s organization. With this activity, I know that I will be able to share my blessings to others and at the same time I can gain learning that can help me become a better Lasallian.

For my service learning project, I would like to focus on the elderly because I think they’re the most deserving people to be treated with respect and to be showered with love. Being raised by my lolo and lola, I’ve always had a soft spot for the elderly. I hate seeing old people in the street sleeping, begging for food or cold at night. I can’t imagine my own lolo and lola in that same situation. I promised myself that I will give them a comfortable life, and return the favor of caring for them just like how they took good care of me when I was young.

My group and I chose Kanlungan ni Maria, a home for the aged located at Antipolo Rizal. It was first founded way back 2002 by the Bishop of Antipolo, Crisostomo Yalung. It is the home of 25 elderly. For me, they are the perfect organization for my service learning because being a small community, my group and I can interact more intimately to the lolos and lolas. The community has also just transferred to a new home, I think this is an opportunity for us to help them settle-in and contribute by organizing their files and other furniture. We can also help expose their community in order to attract more people like us that are willing to help and spend time with the elderly.

Other options I considered for the service learning were the abandoned street children at Virlanie, Gawad Kalinga, and organization for animals like Paws. I chose not to push thru with these organizations because most of these organizations already have a steady benefactor and I feel that my group may not make an impact to them.

I am looking forward to get to know the elderly at Kanlungan ni Maria and learn about their stories.

Leave a comment