Reflection after the Service Learning Activity

 

20151025_083045

20151025_124154

 

 

20151025_092745.jpg

Last October 25, 2015. My group visited The Sisters of the Poor – San Lorenzo Ruiz Home for the Elderly. I didn’t know what to expect from the activity since it will be my first time to bond with the elderly inside a home for the aged. At first, I was hesitant to communicate with them but after a few small talks, I was able to see that they are very welcoming and eager to spend time with us.

I was able to talk with Lola Tina at the start of our outreach. She told me her life’s story and she also shared her reason why she herself wanted to go in the home for the aged. She doesn’t have relatives anymore since she is an only child and is not married. She also shared with me their schedule inside the home.

Aside from small talks, the group also prepared a program for the elderly. We encouraged them to exercise regularly by showing to them our own version of “mild zumba.” We showed them how to have fun while exercising. Laughing and having fun can make them feel younger.

We also participated in the mass since we went there on a Sunday. We joined the choir in singing the mass songs and one of our member also read the Prayers of the Faithful.

Our last activity was to feed and bond with them over lunch. During this activity, we sang to them Christmas songs while they eat and we also joined them after singing to further deepen our connection with them.

This experience opened my eye in the importance of caring for the elderly. We can show this care by taking care of our lolo and lola. They deserve to be treated with respect and with much love.

Leave a comment